Football 

How many fans would dream of appearing at the home of football twice in 2 seasons? 

Why would a woman like me want to watch  11 men kicking a ball around? 

My love of football started back in the summer of 1998 when Michael Owen announced himself on the world stage at the tender age of 18 when he bamboozled defences with his lightening pace and scored some pearlers for club and country. Whilst Michael Owen may have been my first football crush, it’s Oxford United that will always be my big love as I went to watch United versus Barnet in 2004. Unfortunately I didn’t go to the Manor Ground as I was too young. 

Who would have believed that Oxford United would get into the fifth round of the FA Cup? 

I’m so proud of the progress Oxford United have made as 10 years ago we were plying our trade in the conference and wondering when we would return to playing league football. How were we beaten 4 – 2 by the likes of Hayes and Yeading and getting knocked out of the FA trophy by little Merthyr Tydfil? 

In 2016 Oxford United played on the hallow turf losing out to Barnsley 3 – 2. Wembley was a sight to behold on that lovely Spring day. The Yellows were in fine voice and I would never have thought that Oxford would be playing again in front of 60,000 at the home of football. 

Last weekend my friend and I had a tour of Wembley Stadium, once we got to where the players will walk up to get their medals and cup, I felt a surge of anxiety and hope. In my head I was screaming.. Yellows! Yellows! Yellows! Playing Coventry will be a tough game on  the 2nd April. 

I will be getting behind the lads. Come On You Yellows! 

Leave a Reply

