Brazil vs Croatia – BRAZIL 2014

SO, this is the moment we’ve been waiting for. Brazil 2014. I can’t wait until the first kick with the new ball (I’m thinking of getting myself one). Who do you think will win it?

This first game against these two great sporting nations happened in 2006 when there was only one goal scored, and it went Brazil’s way. So today, can Neymar live up to the heights of his reputation? The weight of the nation’s expectations have to be on his shoulders?

When the two teams last met

Ronaldo, Kaka, Roberto Carlos, Ronaldinho … recent legends of the Brazilian national squad. Today, however, the Brazilian squad can boast the likes of Fred, Jo, Willian and David Luiz. And of course Neymar.

Jo used to play in the Barclays Premiership but he was pretty woeful, which meant that he left the English game and now plays for Atletico Mineiro. He’s got a very impressive CV, having played for the likes of Everton, Manchester City and CSKA Moscow to name but a few. In this World Cup I reckon that he’ll do well to grab any headlines from the two (former) Chelsea team-mates – Luiz (now PSG-bound) and Willian.

Croatia aren’t slouches either. They have in the past boasted the names of Prso, Novac, Olic and this time around they boast the names of Lovren and Modric. In my opinion Modric is an unsung hero for both Real Madrid and Croatia. If my memory serves me right didn’t Modric score against England when we didn’t qualify for the Euros in 2008? I am still questioning Steve McLaren’s tactics.

My prediction for tonight’s game:

Brazil 2 Croatia 2

 

 

2 thoughts on “Brazil vs Croatia – BRAZIL 2014

  1. I reckon Brazil will win the World Cup, they’re on home turf and I don’t think they are affected by pressure and they have a good squad. I predict that they will come up against Spain in the final; who can use their tiki-taka style to their advantage in the hot and humid conditions. Yeah Croatia has some good players with the likes of Sevilla star Rakitic and Mario Mandzukic (suspended for the game against Brazil of course) as their star players too. I reckon a 3-1 result for Brazil though.

Leave a Reply

